Wheat Growers Welcome Lawrence MacAulay as New Agriculture Minister

CALGARY, AB: The Wheat Growers extend our congratulations and best wishes to the Honourable Lawrence MacAulay, the new Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.

“We look forward to working with Minister MacAulay on issues of key importance to prairie farmers,” said Levi Wood, President of the Wheat Growers.

The Wheat Growers look forward to progress on several important files, including trade, grain transportation, research, and grain industry regulations.

“We anticipate the new government to move ahead quickly in ratifying the Trans-Pacific Partnership and the European trade deal, as they are essential for grain producers and the livestock sector” said Wood.“We also look forward to the government responding positively on grain transportation reforms once the Canada Transportation Act Review report is released in December.”

The Wheat Growers also congratulate and welcome Hon. Marc Garneau as the new Minister of Transport and the Hon. Chrystia Freeland as the new Minister of International Trade.

“We look forward to working with these Ministers and all Members of Parliament in advancing the interests of Canadian agriculture,” said Wood.

About the Wheat Growers:

Founded in 1970, the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association is a voluntary farmer-run advocacy organization dedicated to developing public policy solutions that strengthen the profitability and sustainability of farming, and the agricultural industry as a whole. For more information, please visit wheatgrowers.ca.

For More Information Contact:

Robin Speer, Executive Director


Share This Article :

Related Posts

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap